Copyright © 2016  All rights reserved

Cionn Locha: Head of the Lake





Contact Us

Make your Mark on the Park

By PayPal:

Click HERE (via Melvin Gaels PayPal Account which will be transferred to Park Account).

By Cheque:

Make cheques payable to Kinlough Community Dev. Co. Ltd. and post to K. Williams, Treasurer, Kinlough Community Development Fundraising, Millbrook, Kinlough, Co. Leitrim.

By Bank Transfer:

Pay by Bank Transfer to Kinlough Community Dev. Co. Ltd  IE20BOFI90476379983790


Please include your name to be dedicated (one name only) and townland/town or city . Then also the purchasers name and number. You can email that to .

Click on the image to visit the Community Centre Site.

Welcome to Kinlough Parish of Kinlough/Glenade


Four Masters' Memorial

Kinlough (from the Irish Cionn Locha = head of the lake) is a pretty village in County Leitrim, Ireland at the junction of the R280 and R281 regional roads.  It gets its name from its position at the head of Lough Melvin. It is situated about 2 miles from Bundoran, County Donegal, about 13 miles from Manorhamilton.  

The village developed in the first half of the 18th century at the edge of Oakfield Estate, owned by the Johnston family. Kinlough village provided services to the surrounding rural areas.

The parish of Kinlough/Glenade has a new website address:

Find it by clicking on the image of

St. Aidan’s Church.


The Famine Years

Potato blight first appeared in Ireland in September 1845 and caused either partial or total failure of the potato crop over the next three years.  The cottiers and the landless, dependent as they were on the potato, were now foodless and had no money with which to buy food.  The inevitable result was starvation.  

The tenant farmers, with their larger holdings and stocks of money, did not starve.  The fevers and other diseases which accompanied the famine did not, however, respect money or class and spread throughout the community.  The Rector of Rossinver parish, Rev. Archibald St. George, died of plague in January 1851 at the age of 46.  

The population of Kinlough parish dropped from 13,566 to 10, 989 between 1841 and 1851, a decline of 25%.